Love-Salt and Light

22 10 2011

I was watching the movie Left Behind and afterwards I started talking to myself(not abnormal for me). I realized something that we use the words “I Love You” way too loosely. Jesus loved me so much that He died for me. When we say we love someone are we really saying what Jesus said. Compared to the love Christ showed us when we say we love someone it doesn’t mean too much. So when I say from now on “I love you” it mean I am willing to die for you just like Christ died for both of us. I also believe that when we are doing something and we do it out of selfish desires but say it is because we love that really is bringing shame upon yourself. God knows all and you aren’t fooling Him. You are also not fooling yourself if you are going to do something then please do it with a right heart. We are called to be salt and light to the world, but if we are not helping with a pure heart then we aren’t really being salt and light but we make yourselves appear as robots. People is read other people’s faces and are able to tell if you are enjoying what you are doing; if you enjoy it the light will shine and like salt you will enhance the enjoyment of those around you.

Actions

Information

One response

22 10 2011
Sweet Rains

Hard hitting but true.

I’ve been thinking about the difference between dying to self and living for Christ and others. In some ways I think it would be easier to give up my life and die for someone than it is to actually ‘die to self’ and live for someone. Does that make senses? Y’see, I’ve known people who say they die to themselves, but as C.S. Lewis said about unselfishness, I think the same thing applies to ‘dying to self’. In “The Weight of Glory” C.S. Lewis said, ““The negative ideal of Unselfishness carries with it the suggestion not primarily of securing good things for others, but of going without them ourselves, as if our abstinence and not their happiness was the important point. I do not think this is the Christian virtue of Love.”

Like you said, “if we are not helping with a pure heart then we aren’t really being salt and light…” Thanks, Eric.

Leave a Reply

